The Reserve Balance

When you first submit your credit card for billing, you will also be invoiced a $50 reserve charge to fund your reserve balance. This is your bank account for your phone call minutes, SMS messages, and acts as security deposit for your account that ensures your account does not get disabled if your credit card is ever declined.

The minutes reserve balance must be funded at the beginning of your account, whether your users are all on the unlimited minutes plan or not.

  • Per-Minute Users: If you have users on the per-minute plan, they get their first 300 standard rate code minutes free (standard rate code means $0.02/min and under). After they have gone through the 300 free minutes, or whenever they make a call that costs more than $0.02/min, the cost of their calls will deduct from the minutes reserve balance.
    • Per-Minute pricing by country code can be found HERE
  • Unlimited Minutes Users: Only calls that cost more than $0.02/minute deduct from the reserve balance. For exactly which calls are and are not included, see How does Kixie's Unlimited Minutes Dialing Plan Work?
  • SMS Messaging: The cost of SMS messages will deduct from the minutes reserve balance. Current rates by country are in Advanced Pricing Rates, and how messages are counted and split is in SMS Messaging Basics. Inbound texts are free.

The reserve balance amount lasts the lifetime of your account, and initially by default it is set to $50 (or more depending on activity level and plan selection).

As soon as your balance dips below $50, you will be recharged your reserve amount.

If your card fails and your minutes reserve reaches $0, your account will be automatically disabled.

  • To give yourself a larger buffer against deactivation, as well as change the amount you will be recharged and when, log in at app.kixie.com and go to Billing > Subscription, then use the Minutes/SMS Reserve button.

To view the total amount that any one of your calls cost, log in at app.kixie.com and open your call history.

If a card has already failed, see Update Your Card, Fix a Declined Payment, or Cancel. You have 7 days from the first failed charge before the account is cancelled.